malaise

There’s a feeling that’s hard to articulate, part-physical, part-emotional. A feeling of restlessness in the mind and in the chest. Slight nausea. A tenseness in the shoulders and a lack of comfort. No matter how I sit, stand, move around or lie down, I feel uncomfortable. Everything aches a bit and I want to escape from my own body as much as from my own mind. I wish I could cast it off and step out in the same way that every morning (on all but the worst days) I pull off the quilt and step out of bed.

Antsy, anxious and on edge for no obvious reason. It could just be boredom. It could be a general symptom of unease with life.

But, of course, the big fear is that it is symptomatic of another drop and that this will never end.

Image result for malaise depression

Leave a Reply

