vwm (Hmong): things to remember

Things I need to remember:

I got better before. Other people have got better. There are no guarantees but there is a chance I will get better again and this will end even though it often doesn’t feel like it.

Depression lies. Some of the things I believe to be true may not be true.

Depression muddles the mind. Sometimes it makes me make the wrong decision. It makes me stay in bed all day. It makes me overeat or not eat enough. It makes me cancel doctor’s appointments. It makes me give up on therapy. It makes me hide away.

Suicide is not the right choice. Even though it often feels like it is.

I can’t do this alone; it’s too big.

Life is not worthless. It is not pointless. If I am dissatisfied with my role in the world, I should change it. But not now. First, I need to get better.

Life is wondrous.

We are all made of stars.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9D05ej8u-gU (This always makes me cry. But in a good, life-affirming kind of way.)

Leave a Reply

